Results 1 to 4 of 4
Discuss "erase all content and settings" at the Winpwn - Hackint0sh.org; I just recently bought an iPhone on ebay, and I wanted to just erase everything ...
  1. #1
    Rookie Array

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default "erase all content and settings"

    I just recently bought an iPhone on ebay, and I wanted to just erase everything on it just to start fresh, but I read that the "erase all content and settings" button ALSO erases the iPhone OS. is this true?

    and if it is, is it safe to do that and then restore with a winpwn'd version of 2.2.1?


    I just am unsure if it upgrades the baseband, and if it does, if it's possible to re-unlock.
    Last edited by miruvil; 02-19-2009 at 09:17 PM.



  2. #2
    iPhone Moderator Array

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,620
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miruvil View Post
    I just recently bought an iPhone on ebay, and I wanted to just erase everything on it just to start fresh, but I read that the "erase all content and settings" button ALSO erases the iPhone OS. is this true?

    and if it is, is it safe to do that and then restore with a winpwn'd version of 2.2.1?


    I just am unsure if it upgrades the baseband, and if it does, if it's possible to re-unlock.
    Is it an iPhone 2G (first generation)? The one with the silver aluminium back? If so, just DFU restore to 2.2.1 and jailbreak/activate/unlock it.

    If it is an iPhone 3G, DONT.

    Just let us know so we can show you a path to upgrade.
    Read the stickies and search the forum before posting!
    If you want to become a Hackint0sh supporter click here
    ----------
    iPhone 4 factory unlocked, iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad Wi-Fi + 3G (1G), iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad 2

  3. #3
    Rookie Array

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    thanks! yeah I have the 2g. I DFU upgraded, but now I have another question... how can I change boot/recovery logos?

  4. #4
    iPhone Moderator Array

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,620
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miruvil View Post
    thanks! yeah I have the 2g. I DFU upgraded, but now I have another question... how can I change boot/recovery logos?
    There is an app called Logme on Cydia, you might want to try it.
    Read the stickies and search the forum before posting!
    If you want to become a Hackint0sh supporter click here
    ----------
    iPhone 4 factory unlocked, iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad Wi-Fi + 3G (1G), iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad 2

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. "erase all content and settings" restart loop
    By apakiguy in forum Jailbreakme.com (iOS 4.x jailbreak)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-22-2012, 01:42 PM
  2. A wierd situation with "erase all content and settings"
    By FEcph in forum iOS 4.x (iPhone OS 4.x)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-17-2012, 11:57 PM
  3. Used "Erase all content and settings" on firmware 3.0 3gs, can I still restore??
    By pdinh001 in forum Ultrasn0w (3G(S)/iPhone 4 unlock)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 06:27 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-28-2007, 07:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
(c) 2006-2012 Hackint0sh.org
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:31 AM.
twitter, follow us!