Results 1 to 5 of 5
Discuss Erase All Settings? at the Quickpwn - Hackint0sh.org; Hi, Does the "erase all settings and media" option under the reset menu mess up ...
  1. #1
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Erase All Settings?

    Hi,

    Does the "erase all settings and media" option under the reset menu mess up a jailbroken and unlocked 2.1 Iphone 2g?



  2. #2
    Respected Professional Array madrich's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Chicago: Home of the Spire!
    Posts
    578
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    No. It just resets the iphone settings; like for wifi, email, etc.
    Gort! Klaatu barada nikto!
    iPhone 2G with FW 3.1 and no MMS

  3. #3
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Just a word of advice.

    I did the erase all settings and media and it took about 1.5 hours and after it finished my phone kept reebooting and reebooting. I had to do a manual restore in iTunes 8.

    If you still plan on doing it, let me know how it goes with you.

    Good luck!
    ----------------------------------
    >>>>1.1.2 OTB, 8gb, week 46
    >>>>1.1.4 iLiberty+
    >>>>2.1 Quickpwn

  4. #4
    Senior Professional Array ninja_pimp's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    yes ity will mess it up
    i have done this on 2 iphones on 2.0
    and it royally messed it up
    if you want to clear or wipe it clean i recommend a shift click restore

    when i tried using the reset option inside the iphone it would mess it up, not worth using IMO

  5. #5
    iPhone Moderator Array

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,620
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    220

    Default

    The erase is only a good idea if you are planning to sell your (old) iPhone cause it will wipe anything. After that a restore is recommended anyway. This will make sure the buyer will not be able to use forensic tools to get your private data ;-)
    Read the stickies and search the forum before posting!
    If you want to become a Hackint0sh supporter click here
    ----------
    iPhone 4 factory unlocked, iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad Wi-Fi + 3G (1G), iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad 2


 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Erase All Content and Settings
    By bond_ankur in forum iOS 4.x (iPhone OS 4.x)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-28-2010, 04:49 PM
  2. Erase All Content and Settings
    By bond_ankur in forum iPhone/iPod Touch
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-28-2010, 04:39 PM
  3. Erase all content and settings - no OS Help!!!
    By halienmadi in forum iPhone 3G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 11:45 AM
  4. Erase all Content and Settings - what exactly does it do
    By dallas in forum iOS 3.x (iPhone OS 3.x)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 09:54 PM
  5. Erase all content and Settings
    By SaCH in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 05:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
(c) 2006-2012 Hackint0sh.org
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:07 PM.
twitter, follow us!