Results 1 to 9 of 9
Discuss [1.1.3 (1.1.1)] Restore or Upgrade differences ? at the iPhone "2G" (Rev. 1) - Hackint0sh.org; I thought That I knew the difference, but ziphone and iPlus always recommend to "restore" ...
  1. #1
    Respected Professional Array madrich's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Chicago: Home of the Spire!
    Posts
    578
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    37

    Default [1.1.3 (1.1.1)] Restore or Upgrade differences ?

    I thought That I knew the difference, but ziphone and iPlus always recommend to "restore" to FW 1.1.4.


    When I updated to FW 1.1.3 from 1.1.1 , I used Ziphone 2.3 and I clicked "upgrade". Everything works fine. My iPhone is 4G with BL 3.9.

    But what would have happened if I restored?

    Exactly what's the definitive difference?
    Gort! Klaatu barada nikto!
    iPhone 2G with FW 3.1 and no MMS



  2. #2
    Administrator Array

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4,145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    upgrade keeps your contacts, apps, and etc...
    restore wipes everything (so you have a clean phone) so make sure you sync your phone and save your contacts ....

    when you are done, itunes sees the phone. set it up as new phone. Some people set it up as previous phone and facing minor issues when itunes puts back settings. YMMV so you can try it. Let us know.

    ps: i edit title for you so thread won't be deleted :-)
    Last edited by dtube; 03-11-2008 at 06:58 PM. Reason: add ps:

  3. #3
    Respected Professional Array madrich's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Chicago: Home of the Spire!
    Posts
    578
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dtube View Post
    upgrade keeps your contacts, apps, and etc...
    restore wipes everything so make sure you sync your phone and save your contacts ....
    Thanks, so Ziphone and iPlus methods are just making more safe to update firmware by erasing all apps that might not be compatible with the new firmware; otherwise it makes no difference (because contacts, bookmarks, sms, really cannot affect the iPhone sw.)
    Gort! Klaatu barada nikto!
    iPhone 2G with FW 3.1 and no MMS

  4. #4
    Administrator Array

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4,145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    yes - It's best to start out with a clean phone free of apps and patches/fixes.

    I'm not sure if contacts, bookmarks, sms can affect the outcome of JB+ACT+Unlocking tools. I don't think so. I believe quirks occurs when they import the old settings.

  5. #5
    Senior Professional Array

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    200
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madrich View Post
    I thought That I knew the difference, but ziphone and iPlus always recommend to "restore" to FW 1.1.4.


    When I updated to FW 1.1.3 from 1.1.1 , I used Ziphone 2.3 and I clicked "upgrade". Everything works fine. My iPhone is 4G with BL 3.9.

    But what would have happened if I restored?

    Exactly what's the definitive difference?

    If you restored only, without updating, your baseband would have not been updated, only your firmware. Therefore, some are recommending UPDATING first, thru iTunes, then RESTORING (to that same version) - to accomplish both - fully updated fw/baseband AND cleaned up system, ready for ziPhone. That's what I did and it worked great.

    Answering the second question - I have restored the phone's settings (it's different restore, not fw restore) thru iTunes (it took like 30 minutes or so!!!) and so far no problem, knock on wood. But it's awesome to have all the settings back, including the data usage counter where it was before the restore!!!


  6. #6
    Administrator Array

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4,145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yogi799 View Post
    If you restored only, without updating, your baseband would have not been updated, only your firmware.
    I disagree.
    if you have a brand new OTB 1.1.2, when you restore and select 1.1.4 fw file, it will put the new 1.1.4 OS and new 04.04.05_G BB on the phone.

    when you restore an existing phone with the same BB as on the FW file, only the OS is wiped.

    The restore checks your current BB with the new FW file, if BB is older, it will update.

  7. #7
    Respected Professional Array madrich's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Chicago: Home of the Spire!
    Posts
    578
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Isn't generally true that if you want change firmware you would want to "upgrade" first,

    but;

    If you were having problems with an existing firmware, you would want to "restore" it, and not upgrade it.
    Gort! Klaatu barada nikto!
    iPhone 2G with FW 3.1 and no MMS

  8. #8
    Advanced Array

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I just upgraded an iphone to 1.1.4, previously unlocked on 1.1.3 using ziphone 2.0

    when I restored to 1.1.4 without setting to dfu mode I received an error 1016, then I just upgraded to 1.1.4 once again without settin dfu mode, upgrade went all the way succesfully and then I activate/jailbraje & unlocked trough iplus 2.0, with no problems and I keept all contacts, fotos, music etc.. so far I did no see any problem...

  9. #9
    Administrator Array

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4,145
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madrich View Post
    Isn't generally true that if you want change firmware you would want to "upgrade" first,

    but;

    If you were having problems with an existing firmware, you would want to "restore" it, and not upgrade it.
    I don't know if there's a general rule or best practice.
    Upgrade is to keep existing settings, information.
    restore is a full wipe.

    Remember when you were at 1.1.1 and want to go to 1.1.2. You had to run oktoprep then do update because you want to keep oktoprep set up in tact so you can run the 112jailbreakme java app after the update. Some people got confused in this particular step and they ran restore which wiped out oktoprep and the next step failed. As you can see in this example, both procedures update FW and BB ; but one keep setting while the other wipe clean

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot upgrade/restore!
    By mixmavros in forum iPhone 3G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 03:09 PM
  2. HOw do I restore/upgrade from 1.1.4 to 2.0??
    By spooky_mulder in forum iPhone "2G" (Rev. 1)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2008, 10:45 PM
  3. No restore or upgrade !
    By hybrid_virus in forum iPhone "2G" (Rev. 1)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 01:15 AM
  4. How to Upgrade to 1.1.1, not 1.1.2 (and not restore to 1.1.1)
    By xoxoteiro in forum iPhone "2G" (Rev. 1)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 03:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
(c) 2006-2012 Hackint0sh.org
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14 PM.
twitter, follow us!