Results 1 to 6 of 6
Discuss Restoring Deletes Everything?? at the iOS 3.x (iPhone OS 3.x) - Hackint0sh.org; I was wondering, when you update to 3.0 you know that you have to go ...
  1. #1
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Restoring Deletes Everything??

    I was wondering, when you update to 3.0 you know that you have to go to that Restore mode and then click on the software that you want. When you restore and finally get 3.0 booted up does this delete all the memory on your phone or is all the apps, music, call logs, etc. still on your phone?



  2. #2
    Senior Professional Array

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    191
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    A Restore deletes everything...

    Have a nice day.

  3. #3
    boz
    boz is offline
    Senior Professional Array

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    159
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    not exactly true, even a DFU restore does not clear everything, but lets not get into detail
    'There is no I in threesome'

  4. #4
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default ??

    Quote Originally Posted by boz View Post
    not exactly true, even a DFU restore does not clear everything, but lets not get into detail
    What do you mean? I want to get into detail so I can decide whether or not to update.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Array n1ckn4m3's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,717
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jap1198 View Post
    What do you mean? I want to get into detail so I can decide whether or not to update.
    Doing a restore of your OS wipes the OS/application partition on the phone and removes any protected content data from the data partition (MP3, podcast, videos, etc.). The restore does NOT completely wipe the data partition, it only removes the protected content. If you jailbreak, this means that the DATA partition (as a step of the jailbreak process is redirecting the applications directory to the data partition) will still contain config files, logs, etc. from your jailbreak, even if you do a restore. That's why after you restore to a new OS and re-jailbreak, some of your jailbroken software settings have remained through the process.

    This may be an oversimplification, but it should be a good enough understanding to answer any question you had.
    Last edited by n1ckn4m3; 04-28-2009 at 11:42 PM.


  6. #6
    iPhone Moderator Array

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,620
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    220

    Default

    Oh, there is way more to be found if the right tools are used: deleted emails, photos, files all the stuff. Think of the iPhone as a computer, deleting a file, even applying a new system does not wipe this data.
    The iPhone has a solution for this, you can erase all content (takes about two hours - Settings>General>Reset). During the process the "free space" is overwritten with zeros. There is an app in the Apps Store iErase, does the same"really deleting2 all the stuff you already deleted.

    just my 2 cent
    Read the stickies and search the forum before posting!
    If you want to become a Hackint0sh supporter click here
    ----------
    iPhone 4 factory unlocked, iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad Wi-Fi + 3G (1G), iOS 4.3.1, jailbroken
    iPad 2

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. HELP!!! Itunes deletes my Apps!!
    By sal911 in forum iPod Touch 2G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 10:54 AM
  2. [Problem] Syncing deletes album artwork
    By Fenix Funk in forum Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2008, 02:19 PM
  3. [Problem]Syncing deletes album artwork
    By Fenix Funk in forum iPhone 3G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2008, 09:00 PM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-04-2008, 06:36 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 08:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
(c) 2006-2012 Hackint0sh.org
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:02 PM.
twitter, follow us!