Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Discuss Inspiron 1720 with iatkos v5i thread - we need your posts! at the Installation - Hackint0sh.org; To fellow Inspiron 1720 users. I can see that a lot of the threads related ...
  1. #1
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Inspiron 1720 with iatkos v5i thread - we need your posts!

    To fellow Inspiron 1720 users. I can see that a lot of the threads related to the installation of iatkos v5i on an Inspiron 1720 has either been halfway answered or unsuccessful but a lot of people are still not responding, despite the fact some of them have well over 1,000 views!

    I have created this thread for people to work together and post their Installation setup (simply by copying and pasting my ticklist (as below) and modifying it to the setup you have so every single person in the planet can get the iatkos v5i working on the said DELL laptop.

    Small note/s: I already have managed to get Leopard running on my Inspiron 1720 using the iatkos v1.0i (10.5.1) but I am keen on trying the v5i so I can update to 10.5.6 and the only actual reason of me reinstalling Leopard. If anyone has a suggestion on how to update iatkos v1.0i in any way, please PM me. Many thanks.

    Please find my two tests that I've tried that didn't work below. Please post your installation configuration and inform us if it worked, and what works and doesn't work once Leopard is running.

    Test 1: 14th February 2009
    iAtkos v5i Main System
    Bootloader
    >>PC EFI V9
    X86 Patches
    >>Decrypters
    >>>AppleDecrypt
    >>SMBIOS drivers
    >>>SMBIOS Enablers
    >>>>>SMBIOS EFI
    >>ACPI
    >>>Stock ACPI modified
    >>Disabler.kext
    Drivers
    >>System
    >>>SATA/IDE
    >>>>Intel AHCI SATA
    >>>Laptop Battery
    >>>NTFS-3G
    >>Network
    >>>Broadcom 440x


    Test 2: 14th February 2009
    iAtkos v5i Main System
    Bootloader
    >>PC EFI V9
    X86 Patches
    >>Decrypters
    >>>AppleDecrypt
    >>SMBIOS drivers
    >>>SMBIOS Enablers
    >>>>>SMBIOS-EFI Air
    >>ACPI
    >>>Stock ACPI modified
    >>Disabler.kext
    Drivers
    >>System
    >>>SATA/IDE
    >>>>Intel SATA
    >>>Laptop Battery
    >>>NTFS-3G
    >>Network
    >>>Broadcom 440x

    DELL Inspiron 1720 specs: Intel Core Duo 1.87Ghz(T2390), 2GB RAM, 120GB HDD, nVidia 8600M GT 256MB Video Card, Wifi (modified [taped-pin-20] DELL 1390 Wifi Card
    Last edited by vinz420; 02-15-2009 at 09:32 PM. Reason: added specs



  2. #2
    Hackint0sh Moderator Array icchansan's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela, Venezuela
    Posts
    6,641
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    349

    Default

    Please post your full specs
    HP Pavilion Elite m9250f
    Snow Leopard 10.6.6, Asus IPIBL-LB MOD BIOS, Intel Quad Core Q6600, 4GB RAM (800mhz), 2x500GB, nVidia 8600GT (Works), ALC888S (Works), Wireless RT73 (Works), LAN (Works) - How to Install - Blog - Hardware Combos - FAQ by TJ2K7
    Macbook Pro 13"
    iPhone 4
    Follow meh: @icchansan

    If you just want to support hackint0sh.org with a donation click here

  3. #3
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Red face

    Hello guys. Do You have any results maybe?
    Since few days i am trying to get it done.
    Still having problems with ahci, power management, however it's called.
    Does anybody here succesfully installed osx on his inpiron 1720 here? Please give me a shout.

    Other thing is, i am not sure about costumizing.
    At this moment i am trying to run iAtkos 5i and my spec is quite like Vinz420 does (except cpu - C2D T7300 and hard drive).
    edit: chipset PM965

    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3609/...d4f25d.jpg?v=0
    - that how it was look like after 24125... installation of osX.

    So can I ask You about little (BIG) help please? Or maybe I should wait for tommorows Leo4All disto.
    Last edited by demdoo; 02-28-2009 at 08:03 PM. Reason: +

  4. #4
    Hackint0sh Moderator Array icchansan's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela, Venezuela
    Posts
    6,641
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    349

    Default

    Is this is a laptop I recommend you to try with another distro maybe ideneb or iPC or ask in this thread how to install ;P
    Last edited by icchansan; 03-06-2009 at 03:31 PM.
    HP Pavilion Elite m9250f
    Snow Leopard 10.6.6, Asus IPIBL-LB MOD BIOS, Intel Quad Core Q6600, 4GB RAM (800mhz), 2x500GB, nVidia 8600GT (Works), ALC888S (Works), Wireless RT73 (Works), LAN (Works) - How to Install - Blog - Hardware Combos - FAQ by TJ2K7
    Macbook Pro 13"
    iPhone 4
    Follow meh: @icchansan

    If you just want to support hackint0sh.org with a donation click here

  5. #5
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I got it working with the following settings

    X86 Patches->
    ACPI->
    x86 ACPI

    Drivers->
    ALL except for speedstep b.


  6. #6
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    hey sith, you got it working how?
    I just keep getting kernel panics or keyboard doesn't work..

    thanks for any help!

  7. #7
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    hi everyone, i'm new, and glad to be here !

    I tried to install itakos 5 on my inspiron 1720

    first time, I tried to choose some options, and couldn't boot (blocked on the Apple logo..)

    second time I changed nothing in iAtkos options (just adding drivers) and installation went fine.

    I was able to boot, but my keyboard was not working, had to use an usb external one.

    but I had the apple registration form, to complete the setup ! that was great, but there, a strange problem occured :

    in the registration form, I put a name, adress, city, and the setup asked me to put a phone number. I typed 12345678 but I was asked to enter a 10 digit phone number....but in the form I could only enter 8 digit ! so I couldn't go any further !!

    does anybody ever experienced that ?

    thanks !

  8. #8
    Newbie Array

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    good news ! I started it all over again.

    reformat, setup (adding ps/2 for the keyboard) and lauching.

    my problem is gone, I just changed the country (not US) and now I'm NOT asked for a 10 digit phone number, and keyboard works !

    Here I am, I can boot, I got it !

    but : no sound, no wifi, no ethernet....I have to search for the drivers...

  9. #9
    Please confirm your eMail or contact staff! Array

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hi Coutard !
    Could you exactly describe what were the custom options you select ? Please let us a description listing, and, if possible, can you describe the sequence of each step, from beginning to the end?
    I'm 1720 user and nothing is working yet !!!

    Thanks a lot !

  10. #10
    Senior Professional Array

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    232
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Drivers are the kexts

    Read this all the way through - but . . . you need to Google for your answers and do some research instead of relying on and expecting a spoon fed answer. Every machine is different. Visit the link at the bottom of this post.

    After a successful install, and it does not boot all they way through then f8 at boot to the Darwin prompt, and then . . .

    You need to boot with -s. If it loads that to a command line, you've got likely kext problems. Then try -x -v so you can see where it stops, slows, issues errors or hangs. If you get in that way to a desktop you've got probably video kext problems. These can be LOTS of different problems depending on whose distribution you installed and how old it is. Get the newest one - right now which is 10.5.6. IPC has some issues with laptop keyboards not working after install - IDeneb seems to go better.

    NO ONE can help you right now. You do not say what is wrong, you do not say what you did that does not work and you offer no clues as to your level of expertise as to EXACTLY where you are stumped. You just scream "please help me". Posting that you think you got it working without understanding what you did does not help either. You might now really have it working as it should be.

    If you go to a Medical Doctor and just scream "please help me" and will give no symptoms or clues as to what is going on - even a Doctor cannot help you but begin guessing - and guess what - they get paid to do so - no one here is being paid by you, and still the doctor could end up killing you rather than saving you because you did not tell a critic piece of information - like a severe allergy or something like that which could kill you in his efforts to help you. Computers - especially the OS's of computers are NO DIFFERENT.

    You do not say what is going on. No one is a mind reader here and were not sitting in front of your machine.

    Usually a Kext is likely probably not loading or blocking something - or the kernel panics. That means dies the horrible crash like a aircraft pilot would it the pilot panic'ed in an emergency situation and did not know what to do.

    The kexts are vendor and device ID specific - so if the kext does not have the right vendor and model ID referenced in the kext file - it will fail - or pass up the device anyway. The kexts ARE the drivers - and sometimes you only need to change or add the vendor and device ID.

    You have to figure this out yourself - it is YOUR machine. They are all different as to what is in the unit from the manufacturer, and even if using common device components - the vendor and device ID may be different that what the kext might have in it.

    If you have Windows still on the same machine - and it is working - you can do kext editing from inside windows by installing some helper tools to look into the HPS drive. Use Windows Text Editor - Editpad Lite (only one that will work) and Ext2Fsd 0.46 - An open source Ext2 File System Driver for Windows - Softpedia and Catacombae - HFSExplorer (HFS Explorer) to see and get at the Mac files in Windows; OR you can BUY Macdrive. If you are having dual boot problems try installing EasyBCD from inside Windows to boot between the two. Its free.

    This above will only work if you have been smart enough to do a dual boot machine where Windows is on another partition or permanent drive in the same computer. If Windows will not boot use a Vista repair disk or the XP disk to repair the boot sector - then install EasyBCD through Windows and it will see the MAC partition to let you set it up on the boot manager. Google how to get one if you do not have them.

    You can see the vendor and device ID in Windows, and the kext will have a name and you can find the vendor and device ID in the text of the kext info.plist. You can edit this from the Windows side with the editor above - and use no other - they will not work.

    After you get in through safe mode, you can run "diskutils repairpermissions /" (without the quotes) and to fix the changes you made from the Windows side.

    You come in single user with the -s command at the prompt. Do what it says to mount the

    volume and then

    You do a "sudo -s" first (no quotes)
    cd /System/Library
    chmod -R 755 Extensions /
    touch Extensions /
    diskutil repairpermissions /

    If you had trouble with the registration looping or other things then . . . after that above of mounting the volume make a password for root by typing

    passwd root

    Then when done type

    touch /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

    reboot

    There are other ways to do this and much more from the -s boot option (single user mode) but it is really getting UNIX specific as to the commands, and if you are there and know nothing anyway - you should probably pay someone, buy a real MAC or just give up - OR get ready for a real extensive learning curve and research on the web.

    You need to do some research on how the MAC OS works. Match your kext families with the missing parts of the OS not loading - change the vendor and device ID's and one at a time - you'll get them working and the boot errors will go away.

    If you have/had IPC 10.5.6 ppf4 or ppf5 you would likely have most of the kexts - but they might not have the right vendor ID and device ID for the unit you are trying to install on.

    It works for both CPUs Intel or AMD. IDeneb 10.5.6. might go more successfully.

    Once installed, you need to boot in safe mode from the Darwin prompt with the -x option. Use -v also so you can see what it is loading and if it does stop in safe mode and where. Then you can try -v -f on another boot to see if it will make it all the way

    The MacOS is at it's core - UNIX - you cannot just lump a question in something and throw it here that is non-descriptive as to tell anyone not at your PC what is TRULY going on, even though I am a UNIX engineer.

    No one can help you if they cannot tell what is really going on - and if you are not ready to learn some UNIX - give up now.

    If you install the right kexts (Kernel EXTensionS) with the right vendor id's applicable the system will load them as it finds the hardware during the boot process. Remember the kext might be there - but have the wrong vendor and device ID - so it will get passed up.

    Read the clues of the boot process yourself and do some research as to what they mean and then if you have a specific question you cannot find on the Internet or in the forums - that someone can identify - post that.

    Of course you can always BUY a real MAC, and then holler "please help me" all you want to Apple Computer Support, and at some point they will tell you the same thing.

    If you install the right kexts (Kernel EXTensionS) with the right vendor id's applicable the system will load them as it finds the hardware during the boot process.

    Read the clues of the boot process yourself and do some research as to what they mean and then if you have a specific question you cannot find on the Internet or in the forums - that someone can identify - post that.

    Visit the Main Page - OSx86 for the best source of simple question info


 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help with installing OSx on Inspiron 1720
    By Soul Eater in forum Installation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 10:17 PM
  2. Please Dell Inspiron 1720 Help Please
    By brzln1991 in forum Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 07:27 AM
  3. Dell inspiron 1720 (laptop). Best distribution?
    By salva2l in forum Distributions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 01:45 PM
  4. Inspiron 1720 Noobie questions
    By m500sesp in forum Installation
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 09:18 PM
  5. Inspiron 1720 reboots during install!
    By JesterDev in forum Installation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2009, 10:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
(c) 2006-2012 Hackint0sh.org
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:21 PM.
twitter, follow us!