Results 1 to 5 of 5
Discuss Does using Jailbreak wipe the phone out at the General - Hackint0sh.org; So I see in almost everything you want to do like change icon mapping, add ...
  1. #1
    Senior Professional Array

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Does using Jailbreak wipe the phone out

    So I see in almost everything you want to do like change icon mapping, add ringtones, activate using the iAsign tool, does this wipe the phone out each time I do this?

    Cause if I hold the home and sleep button for 25secs, it puts it into recovery mode, when jailbreak runs at that point, does it wipe the phone clean? Like do I lose all my contacts, photos, music or stuff? Or no?

    Just want to make sure before I start going buck and find out I have to run the iASign each team after adding a simple ringtone and resync all my stuff.

    Thanks
    Dixit



  2. #2
    Rookie Array

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    nope doesn't wipe out anything. but the jail
    Last edited by tendo; 07-19-2007 at 11:52 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Professional Array

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Cool, so when I hold the sleep and home for 25sec and it says connect to restore, it hasnt lost anything yet until you hookup to iTunes and it initiates it and wipes it out. Good to know.

    Dixit

  4. #4
    Advanced Array

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigdogjonx View Post
    Cool, so when I hold the sleep and home for 25sec and it says connect to restore, it hasnt lost anything yet until you hookup to iTunes and it initiates it and wipes it out. Good to know.

    Dixit
    When you are done making any mod you can put back the original Services.plist and this will prevent iTunes from wiping out the phone.
    Just dont allow itunes to run after you make for the jailbreak. Or in my case you can just close iTunes after you plug he phone in.

    One thing to remember, the iTunes backup file will not backup any mods you make (pics, ringtones, ect.)

    So if for any reason you have to do a valid restore to the phone you will loose any mods you have done.

  5. #5
    Senior Professional Array

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA
    Posts
    103
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Thanks DrFun. I tried this and works good, Im also making sure I put the original Services.plist each time to make sure I dont run into any issues when I go to sync to iTunes, cause I know I will have to start over if I do.

    Dixit


 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 11:15 AM
  2. new phone no jailbreak
    By BIGBOYBLUE in forum iOS 4.x (iPhone OS 4.x)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2010, 09:35 AM
  3. Q: Does Remote Wipe Erase RedSn0w Jailbreak?
    By decagon in forum iPhone 3GS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2010, 08:53 AM
  4. Phone won't jailbreak Please Help!
    By MASQUPUS in forum iPhone "2G" (Rev. 1)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2007, 02:59 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2007, 09:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
(c) 2006-2012 Hackint0sh.org
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:52 PM.
twitter, follow us!